top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSoundMind Segment with Velvet Scoggin

Soundmind Saturday



I have been quarantined for a month now and these days are beginning to seem like the same day, every day. Seriously, I don’t think I can watch any more movies, YouTube, Hulu and Netflix. I can only create so many TikToks, Instagram and Facebook posts. Spring cleaning is only suppose to be done once, I have no closets left and I am running out of garage space. Definitely taking a break from work (online teaching never-ending). I am literally turning into L.L Kool J’s I NEED LOVE song: “When I’m alone in my room sometimes I stare at the wall and in the back of my mind I hear my conscience call…” I am officially deeming today---SOUND-MIND SATURDAY. I have chosen to do something more thoughtful and powerful for my mind: Food for my BRAIN. I tell my students everyday to take a BRAIN Break and relax. I am reminded of the scriptures: 2 TIMOTHY 1:7. For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind. ROMANS 12:2 And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.

So today, I will make this an unusual day by finding something unique and different to do. I will not dwell on Coronavirus, I am not cleaning today (tomorrow I will), and I am not watching TV and limiting my social media intake. View my video below and let me know what you have been doing while “Quarantining”.#KEEPTHEFAITH#StaySafe&Strong

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Inside Out!

As I was preparing my late breakfast, I chose a banana to add to my bowl of cereal because they all looked good. Unfortunately, it wasn't. We have to remember just because a person or situation looks

bottom of page